On the Shaking of Governments

Is shaking governments to the point that they disintegrate and nobody is left to surrender naivete and weakness? … There is nothing weak about a technique of struggle which can take the legitimacy away from a repressive government, which can produce a defiant population uncontrollable by the police and military forces sent to repress them.

Gene Sharp

I’ve spent a lot of my time recently studying nonviolent resistance. I want to write more about this in the future. I’m thinking a lot about how progressive radicals will build power, reach people and shape the future. To win a new world, we need to reach millions of people and raise their consciousness to withdraw their consent from existing institutions, and build alternatives to the current ones. A movement like that requires diverse inroads and multiple levels of participation. I don’t believe a movement of violence can be that inclusive.

This is really exciting for me, I feel like a world is opening up. I’ll write more about this in the future. In the mean time, I’d really encourage you to check out.

Globalize Liberation, George Lakey

From Dictatorship to Democracy, Gene Sharp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

